Hello world!

Hello, non-existent internet readers! My name is Mrs. K and I am ready to tackle my health/fitness/weight issues once and for all. Sure, we all say similar things at the start of a new year, but I am beyond ready. I lost over thirty pounds for my wedding in Fall 2009, and have since gained fifty! That is ridiculous, disgusting, and depressing. However, rather than wallowing in self-pity about poor pitiful me, I’ve decided to stand up, be a woman, and DO SOMETHING about it. This is my life. I’m taking it back!

If you want to know a little about me, please go read my “About the Blogger” page. Otherwise, I’ll add bits and pieces as I continue on this journey of self-discovery.

Today is day one of the Power of One challenge challenge over at Shrinking Jeans, and I couldn’t be more excited or scared to join anything right now. Part of the challenge requires blogging weekly check-ins. As a part of my first check-in, I am also to include my Healthy Living Goals. Because I adore to-do lists, this part of the challenge is right up my alley!

In 2011 I want to accomplish…

1. Getting 8 hours of sleep each night. I am the world’s biggest night owl, and I am not a morning person. Being an educator, I wake up around 5-5:30 on weekdays. I cannot detail how many days I wake up in a fog from going to bed a few hours before my wake-up call. Now, when my husband is not traveling, I am early to bed. He’s the good influence in my life! However, my husband travels for work each week, and is often only home on weekends. Because of this sad fact, I must force myself to become the disciplined person I know I can be, and get to sleep at a reasonable time EVERY NIGHT!

2. Tackle my problems with emotional eating. It’s true, I’m an emotional, binge eater. If I’m happy, I eat too much. If I’m sad, I eat too much. If I’m angry, disappointed, bored, insert any emotion here, I eat too much. Breaking this addiction/routine will be the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my almost three decades on Earth, but I know it is worth it. I’m hoping through journaling and talking with a counselor, I can begin to heal years of self-inflicted abuse.

3. Give up soda and drink more water. At this time two years ago, I was not a soda drinker. It’s amazing how fantastic I felt when I gave up soda. I’m ready to make that change again.

4. Move more! I spend far too much time sitting on my @ss watching tv, on the computer, at my desk, in class, etc, etc, etc. It’s no wonder I’m having circulation issues. I want to move more each day, eventually working into a solid exercise routine. In the past I have given up for rushing into exercise. I don’t want to burn out again, so I will go slowly.

5. Stop obsessing over the numbers on the scale. This was my other huge downfall in the past. I would weigh myself every day, multiple times a day. I became obsessed with the number I was seeing. If the number went down, I was ecstatic and it fueled me to push forward. If the number went up or went nowhere at all, I beat myself up and fell into a depression. No more. I’m weighing myself for the weekly check-in, and that is it. No more being a slave to my scale.

6. Remind myself that even though I am severely obese (yeah, I said it. I’m obese), I will remind myself that I am BEAUTIFUL. I will not brush my husband off when he tells me I’m beautiful. I will accept these things for what they are, fact. The truth of the matter is I am a beautiful person with a kind soul. It’s time I acknowledge myself and give myself more credit than I ever have before.

7. Break the fast food cycle. I will dive deeper into this in an upcoming post.

8. Try something new, like acupuncture or yoga. Explore new healthy lifestyle activities in my area.

So now, on to the big number. I am a little skeptical of putting this information out on the internet, so stop reading if you are inclined to leave an inappropriate comment about me/my weight/etc. Remember what your mother (should have) told you: If you don’t have anything nice to say; don’t say anything at all! I’m harsh enough on myself; I do not need your judgment.

Starting weight: 357.4
Please do not judge me, as I judge myself more harshly than any stranger ever could.

I’m not focusing on an end result (number) right now. I’m more concerned with making healthier choices, feeling more comfortable in my clothing, and feeling more energized.

It’s my time now. It’s time for me to start livin’. That’s the next thing on my list…

About zutoui

29-year-old work in progress Wife Teacher Animal Lover Graduate student Learning to love myself again
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Adah says:

    Those are great goals for the challenge. You can do it just take it one step at a time. Good luck!

  2. Trish says:

    I am so glad you have joined the challenge! I can relate to almost every one of your goals at some point in my life. You will receive nothing but encouragement and support from the SisterHood we are here for you and will cheer you on! {{HUGS}}

  3. braultfam says:

    I’m new to the Sisterhood challenge and wish you all the best! I have lots to lose too, so no worries about judgement. I too have a love affair with soda and can relate to most of your goals. But we can do it!!

  4. Carrie says:

    Stacy, you are an inspiration and a strong, beautiful woman! I have the utmost faith in you. xoxo!

Leave a Reply

