Wednesday Weigh-in

Woohoo, it’s Wednesday! The middle of the week, and weigh-in day over at Shrinking Jeans. I hope my fellow Shrinkers had a great week: personally, professionally, and healthily. Here are my results for the week for the Power of One Challenge.

Starting Weight: 357.4 lbs.

Current Weight: 348.8 lbs.

Difference: -8.6 lbs. WOW! While I’m sure this is water weight, I could care less. That scale is down and I am thrilled!

As for my challenge goals…

Sleep: I have not done so well with sleep. Monday and Tuesday I took naps in the evening, and couldn’t fall back asleep until well after 11pm. Tonight, I have not taken a nap and hope to be in bed around 9/9:30.

Emotional/binge eating: I am doing better with asking myself if I am truly hungry, or just bored/mad/sad/happy/lonely, etc. This will obviously be a work in progress, and hopefully not a constant struggle.

Give up soda and drink more water: YES! I have not had a soda all week. I have been drinking water like it’s going out of style. I am already noticing a difference in the way I feel. I am craving water and honestly want nothing to do with soda right now. Hopefully this feeling lasts.

Move more: I must admit, I have not done any typical exercise. I am up and down the stairs all day at work, but that doesn’t seem like much of a workout compared to my past history with exercise. I’m trying to introduce small changes and plan to begin working out next week.

Stop obsessing over numbers on the scale: I wrote about this yesterday in my confessions post. I am still weighing myself far too frequently. It’s a work in progress, just as I am a work in progress. I’m confident it will get better with time.

Remind myself I am beautiful: Shrinkers, I am still struggling with this one, hardcore. There are times I look at myself and consider myself decent from the chest up. From the chest down, I’m still a hot mess. However, that hot mess is me, and I am beginning to accept myself for who I truly am. I am so much more than a number on a scale. You are, too!

Break the fast food cycle: I am doing well with this goal as well. I have had no fast food all week, unless Subway counts! If it does, I will confess to that oven-roasted chicken breast on wheat. It was delicious and a much better alternative to the McDonald’s that was next door!

Finally, try something new: I have an acupuncture appointment for January 17th!

So there you have it. I feel I have made great progress in one week. Onward and upward!

About zutoui

29-year-old work in progress Wife Teacher Animal Lover Graduate student Learning to love myself again
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wednesday Weigh-in

  1. Denise says:

    I am so glad you’re writing shit down. Writing, whether on the internet or in a regular, paper journal, is a huge help for me (and probably for a lot of people). It’s a good way to make lists (yay, lists!) and also to have a record of how far you’ve come.

    Your writing is excellent, as per usual. I’m so excited for you!

    • zutoui says:

      Thank you, Denise. I appreciate your kind words. It has been tough to write openly and honestly about my weight struggles, but it’s already changing me for the better.

  2. Holy Smokes, girl! WTG on your awesome loss!! Keep up the great work. 🙂

    • zutoui says:

      Thank you! I was quite shocked myself. I am loving this blog, and the Sisterhood site. There is so much support in one place. It’s truly amazing!

  3. Carrie says:

    Yay on the weight loss!! You are a rockstar 🙂
    And, I am SO excited for you to try acupuncture. It’s good for everything (weight loss included!) and I hope you love it and embrace it like I did (OK, maybe not to the point of obsession like I have 😉 but still)

    xo!

Leave a Reply

